Slapfish – (Food Review)

Slapfish in Huntington Beach has some of the most delicious seafood experiences you could ask for.  Especially if you come during Slappy Hour, which is 3-5pm, and then 8 to Closing.  The wife and I were watching David So talk about it, which activated our own curiosity.  Being impulsive and adventurous as a couple, we simply had to go.

We ordered many things, so that we could get the full experience, as well as to justify the long distance.  This was also some photogenic food, so never fear.

First there was the free check-in special, which was some kind of chowder toast thing.  Not really impressive.

chowdertoast

Then came the chowder fries.  The chowder was okay, which oddly enough meant that the fries were the highlight of the dish.  They were crunchy and well-seasoned.  The chowder just kind of made them soggy.

chowderfries

Value item of the day was definitely the Ultimate Fish Taco – $4.00 during Slappy hour.  The thing was HUGE!  I thought it just looked big, but then I tried to pick it up like a taco and it was heavy, and it held its own shape, because it was indeed a big old slab of fish.  Definitely go for this if you’re pinching pennies and wanting seafood.

ultfishtaco

The clobster grilled cheese was deeeeeelicious!  Soft, tender morsels of lobster and crab, and they didn’t overdo the cheese, either.  It wasn’t too heavy.  Butter, bread, American cheese, lobster, crab, yes yum yum yum.  My wife and I were splitting everything so we could try a little of everything.  She offered me the rest of her half of this sandwich.  I replied, “Are you crazy, I’m not trying to die, we have all this food to cover!”  Weirdly though, it came out sounding like “Yes please yum nom nom mm so good I hope this never ends.”  Maybe I have a speech impediment.

clobstergrilled

We only ate half of the surf and turf burger, which basically just tasted like a burger.  The flavor of the seafood didn’t feature unless the seafood morsels were eaten separately… which proved to be the way to go, because they were definitely good!

surfnturf

But yo ho yo ho the best was yet to come!  The lobster grinder! Lobster, crab, and shrimp stuffed into a fresh, toasted, eggy and buttery brioche bun.  I doubted this dish because it looked small but I tasted it and now I believe.  This was 13.50.

lobstergrindr

So was this worth the many many miles we traveled to LA?  Having not tried it before, absolutely.  I wouldn’t go back for the sole purpose of going here, but if I’m ever nearby again I’m pretty sure some animal instinct in me would be able to detect it if I got within 5 miles.  I ate enough that I was significantly screwed up afterward.  My eyes glazed over and I fumbled with my words like I had just learned how to trace my name and had gotten lost on my way to the lego bucket.

giphy

Such was my state that my wife thought that I hated the experience until I had recovered and was able to convey to her how much I had enjoyed myself.

Also, the servers were very nice and polite, and the food came out faaast… faster than it would take the average person to finish reading this article.  5 stars for that!  Way to earn the tip!

They also offer a soda fountain with pure cane sugar, but I didn’t partake because my wife wanted me to live.

Leave a Reply

